Calculate your campaign’s Cost Per Mile (CPM) Instantly!
Get Insight into what percentage of visitors are completing the action you intend on them doing.
Looking to improve your CPM rate?
Browse and Buy Projects to help boost your CPM rates.
The CPM calculator helps you calculate important metrics to evaluate your marketing campaign by calculating the CPM rate (cost per mille or cost per thousand). It can also help you calculate campaign cost or your campaign’s total number of impressions.
To use the calculator, you will need to input two of three fields:
- The total cost of your marketing campaign
- The cost paid for every 1,000 ad exposures or impressions
- The total number of ad impressions made over the length of the campaign
The calculator automatically determines the missing field. It’s easy and fast to use and is ideal if you need a simple way to manage your marketing campaign’s performance.
Frequently asked questions
Cost per mille, or cost per thousand, is a calculation of the total ad spend per thousand ad impressions during a marketing campaign. Those impressions refer to the views and engagements that an ad receives. Since marketing campaigns generate a large number of impressions, the CPM is calculated in terms of 1,000 ad impressions. This calculation helps you understand the effectiveness of your campaign, as well as the value that you’re getting for your marketing investments. It’s an essential figure for digital marketing.
CPM is also used in digital advertising. With CPM advertising, ad publishers sometimes offer ad rates for every 1,000 views that an ad will receive. The business owner pays the ad publisher a set amount for every 1,000 views. These CPM ads make it easy for a business owner to set and stick to an advertising budget, knowing that their ads will be seen by a certain number of people based on what the business owner decides to spend.
You can use three different CPM calculations depending on the information that you have available. The right CPM formula for your situation is based on what data you already have.
You can find a CPM for a campaign:
- CPM = Total Campaign Spend ÷ Number of Impressions X 1,000
You can also calculate the total cost of the campaign:
- Cost = Total Impressions ÷ 1000 x CPM
Or, you can calculate how many impressions your campaign has made:
- Impressions = Cost of Campaign ÷ CPM x 1,000
All of these calculations are valuable to a marketing team and they can help the team evaluate and improve the campaign’s performance.
CPM identifies the ad spend for every 1,000 times an ad is displayed to a website visitor. You might track CPM on a website where you’ve paid for an ad, on social media, or on nearly any other site.
As an example, let’s say that you have paid a trade publication $1,000 to run your ad on their website. That ad has received 10,000 impressions. Your CPM for that campaign would be $100. In other words, you have paid $100 for every 1,000 ad impressions.
Average CPM rates vary depending on the outlet and your industry. To determine if you’re getting a good CPM rate, think about how your ad campaign is working for your business. A LinkedIn ad that has a higher-than-average CPM might not immediately seem like a good deal. But, if that ad generates significant brand awareness and reaches your target audience, it could drive sales and increase your profitability.
If you operated your business but haven’t received income yet, you can file your taxes and claim tax deductions for your startup costs.
You can calculate your startup gross burn rate, or the rate at which your business is losing money, by dividing the money in your bank account by your business’ monthly operating expenses.